New Hampshire Minimum Wage 2024

2 min read
Mar 6, 2024 5:26:14 PM

New Hampshire workers are entitled to receive an hourly Minimum Wage rate according to New Hampshire Labor Laws and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). New Hampshire's minimum wage is rather straightforward, however, there are special considerations depending on the type of work employees are employed to do. 

Here is everything you need to know on New Hampshire minimum wage in order to process payroll in New Hampshire, without error.

Updated: March 3, 2024

The standard New Hampshire minimum wage for 2024 is $7.25 per hour (federal minimum wage).  There are certain exceptions to the New Hampshire Minimum Wage Law, as well as special considerations for certain professions. 

Improved compliance with things such as New Hampshire Minimum Wage Law is just one of the many benefits of outsourcing payroll. Companies struggling with payroll compliance should consider seeking out a payroll outsourcing company for help.

New Hampshire Minimum Wage Exceptions

While generally, it is unlawful in New Hampshire for employers to pay workers an hourly wage below that of federal law, there are some exceptions. 

These limitations do not apply to the following types of workers:

  • Those engaged in household labor
  • Those engaged in domestic labor
  • Those engaged in farm labor
  • Outside sales representatives
  • Minors employed at summer
  • Newspaper carriers
  • Non-professional ski patrol
  • Golf caddies

Special Considerations for New Hampshire Minimum Wage

In addition to the above exceptions, there are a few other special considerations regarding minimum wage in New Hampshire. Specifically, these special considerations revolve around certain, qualified, tipped employees. 

New Hampshire Tipped Employee Minimum Wage

In New Hampshire, qualified tipped employees working in the following establishments are eligible for a lower wage rate: 

  • Restaurants
  • Hotels
  • Motels
  • Inns
  • Cabins

In order to qualify for a lower wage rate, these employees must customarily and regularly receive at least $30 per month in tips. Those who qualify may be paid a New Hampshire tipped minimum wage rate of no less than 45% of the state minimum wage.

Other Requirements for Employers

In addition to ensuring employees are paid fairly and accurately for their time worked, New Hampshire employers must also keep a true and accurate record of all hours worked daily by each non-exempt employee (in regards to FLSA status).

New Hampshire Minimum Wage Schedule

While employers should keep an eye out for any updates from the New Hampshire Department of Labor there are no planned increases to the state minimum wage, which has generally followed the federal minimum wage. 

In fact, New Hampshire's minimum wage has not increased since 2009.

Get Help With New Hampshire Payroll Compliance

If you are processing payroll in New Hampshire you need to ensure compliance with minimum wage. However, New Hampshire payroll compliance does not end there. New Hampshire payroll can be complex, which is why it is important to have a payroll service that understands the intricacies of the state. 

To learn more about our New Hampshire Payroll Services or how we help companies process payroll in New Hampshire with accuracy and ease, contact us today. Payroll Software Demo Video CTA

Subscribe by email

New call-to-action